Neil Young to Release CD, Digital and Deluxe Versions of New Album Next Month

b_250_0_16777215_00_images_obgrabber_2014-04_c9754dd4f4.jpgReprise Records -- Just days after Neil Young unexpectedly released his new covers album, A Letter Home, on high-quality vinyl via ex-White Stripes frontman Jack White's Third Man Records label, the folk-rock legend has revealed plans to issue the record on CD, digitally and as a deluxe box set on May 27. A Letter Home features renditions of 11 tunes by various singer-songwriters who have inspired and influenced Young, and was recorded on a 1947 Voice-o-Graph recording booth located at White's Third Man Records store in Nashville.

The limited-edition box set includes standard CD and 180-gram vinyl LP versions of the album; an audiophile 180-gram vinyl disc; seven six-inch singles pressed on clear vinyl, including one disc that features two bonus tracks; a DVD containing footage of Young recording the album; a 32-page booklet; and a download card allowing access to a high-resolution digital version of the record.

Among the songs featured on A Letter Home are Bob Dylan's "Girl from the North Country," Bruce Springsteen's "My Home Town," Willie Nelson's "Crazy," and Bert Jansch's "Needle of Death," a tune that inspired Neil's memorable 1972 song, "Needle and the Damage Done."  In addition, the album begins with a spoken-word message from Young to his late mother.

A video of Young singing "Needle of Death" in the Voice-o-Graph booth can be viewed now on Neil's official YouTube channel.

Here is the full track list of A Letter Home:

"A Letter Home intro"
"Changes" (Phil Ochs)
"Girl from the North Country" (Bob Dylan)
"Needle of Death" (Bert Jansch)
"Early Morning Rain" (Gordon Lightfoot)
"Crazy" (Willie Nelson)
"Reason to Believe" (Tim Hardin)
"On the Road Again" (Willie Nelson)
"If You Could Only Read My Mind" (Gordon Lightfoot)
"Since I Met You Baby" (Ivory Joe Hunter)
"My Hometown" (Bruce Springsteen)
"I Wonder If I Care as Much" (Everly Brothers)

Bonus tracks on box set's six-inch vinyl disc:
"Blowin' in the Wind" (Bob Dylan)
"Crazy" (alternate take) (Willie Nelson)

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio