The Doors to Release 1972 "Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine" Comp on CD, Digitally in May

b_250_0_16777215_00_images_obgrabber_2014-04_39bfdb5f2e.jpgRhino -- After releasing a limited-edition colored vinyl version of their long-out-of-print Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine compilation as part of last weekend's Record Store Day, The Doors will make the retrospective available for the first time ever on CD and as a digital download. The 22-song collection will be issued digitally and as a two-CD set on May 19. Originally released as a double LP in 1972, Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine features a mix of well-known Doors songs and lesser-known gems from the band's classic six studio albums with late singer Jim Morrison.

In addition to popular tunes like "Break On Through," "Love Her Madly," "The End," "L.A. Woman" and "Riders on the Storm," the album includes such nuggets as "Love Street," "The Wasp (Texas Radio & the Big Beat)," "End of the Night," "Spanish Caravan," and "Maggie McGill."  The track list also features a pair of B-sides -- "Who Scared You," the flipside of 1969 tune "Wishful Sinful"; and a rendition of Willie Dixon's "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further" that backed The Doors' 1971 hit, "Love Her Madly."

You can pre-order the Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine two-CD set now at

Here's the complete track list for the compilation:

Disc One
"Break On Through"
"Strange Days"
"Shaman's Blues"
"Love Street"
"Peace Frog/Blue Sunday"
"The Wasp (Texas Radio & the Big Beat)"
"End of the Night"
"Love Her Madly"
"Spanish Caravan"
"Ship of Fools"
"The Spy"
"The End"

Disc Two
"Take It As It Comes"
"Running Blue"
"L.A. Woman"
"Five to One"
"Who Scared You"
"(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further"
"Riders on the Storm"
"Maggie McGill"
"Horse Latitudes"
"When the Music's Over"

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio