New Donovan Album, "Shadows of Blue," Available Now as a Digital Download

b_250_0_16777215_00_images_obgrabber_2013-07_b091bc4c75.jpgJeremy Loscher/Donovan Discs -- Donovan has pulled something of a David Bowie.  The folk-rock legend quietly and without much fanfare has released a new studio album titled Shadows of Blue that he recorded in Nashville last fall and winter.  The country-flavored collection currently is available for purchase as a digital download exclusively through the singer/songwriter's official website,

In an official statement about Shadows of Blue, Donovan explains that his connection to Nashville goes back to the beginning of his career, as the Hickory Records label, which was based in the city, released his first U.S. single, "Catch the Wind."

Donovan says, "I never forgot Nashville and I knew I would go back to Nashville one day with a set of songs I have kept in my back jeans pocket."  The 67-year-old singer describes the tunes he put aside for the project as "Broken Hearted ballads and Outlaw songs."

Shadows of Blue was recorded at Treasure Isle Studios with help from Grammy-winning producer Michael Knox and a set of respected local session musicians.  The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer also enlisted former Lovin' Spoonful frontman John Sebastian to play harmonica on a new tune titled "The Harmonica Girl."

That song and another track titled "To Love You" have been chosen as the first singles from Shadows of Blue.  The entire album currently is streaming at Donovan's SoundCloud page.

Here is the track list for Shadows of Blue:

"Blue Jean Angel"
"Resurrect Your Love"
"To Love You"
"River of Ruin"
"Shadows of Blue"
"Rock & Roll Gypsy"
"The Loving of You"
"The Blame Game"
"The Harmonica Girl"
"The Bungalow"

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio